2012-2013 Graduate Catalog 
    Apr 12, 2024  
2012-2013 Graduate Catalog [Archived]

College of Arts and Sciences

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges

Dr. John D. Murray, Dean
Dr. Jerry W. Boyd, Associate Dean
Dr. Harriet E. Hudson, Associate Dean

College Offices: Stalker Hall, room 200


The central mission of the College of Arts and Sciences is to provide students with a nationally recognized, contemporary education in the liberal arts and sciences. The college fosters an environment that advances innovative and integrative inquiry and engagement, builds on faculty expertise and institutional heritage, and involves students as collaborators in enhancing and developing the public good.


Indiana State University’s College of Arts and Sciences was established by the Board of Trustees in 1962 and is the largest academic unit of the University.  Master’s and doctoral programs are offered in 11 departments and one school in the natural sciences and mathematics, social and behavioral sciences, and humanities and fine arts. National accreditations include those from the National Association of Schools of Art and Design, the National Association of Schools and Music, and the American Psychological Association.   The individual master’s and doctoral programs in the college are described in detail further on in the Catalog.

Faculty regularly publish their research with major academic presses and disciplinary journals; perform or exhibit regionally, nationally, and internationally; obtain extramural grants and contracts that support graduate students; and provide service to their disciplines and the community.

Complementing the discipline-based departments in the college are three research centers that provide opportunities for both disciplinary and interdisciplinary research: the Center for North American Bat Research and Conservation; the Center for the Study of Health, Religion, and Spirituality; and the Center for Urban and Environmental Change. 

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges